National Tournament Set for Return to Long Island

National Tournament Set for Return to Long Island

As the nation’s best collegiate women’s lacrosse players congregate on Long Island for the 2018 NCAA Women’s Lacrosse Championship this weekend at Stony Brook, the future stars of the sport will also be competing.

The US Lacrosse National Tournament, a historic event on the women’s lacrosse calendar and one of the nation’s biggest recruiting events, takes place May 26-27 at the Three Village Soccer Club in Stony Brook, N.Y.

The event traces its roots to 1933 and this year will feature more than 1,100 of the nation’s top high school players competing on 59 regional all-star teams that represent 27 states. More than 160 college coaches are registered to recruit at the event.

The event is sponsored by Northwest Designs Ink, First Scout Productions, HLA Foundation, The Pearl by Guardian, Gatorade, Chipotle, Peapod and Impact Canopy – as well as US Lacrosse national partners, GreenFields and Nationwide.

The Massachusetts/Rhode Island regional team is the defending champion, having ended a three-year run of Long Island teams winning the top flight in the event with a 15-13 win over Philly in the championship game at Yale.

This is the third time that the event has been held at Stony Brook. In 2011, future Maryland three-time Tewaaraton Award winner Taylor Cummings helped Baltimore Metro win the top flight and in 2012, a Lower New England squad that featured Boston College’s Kenzie Kent brought home the title.

Following the conclusion of the event, the Heather Leigh Albert Award will be presented to the top player. Past recipients include former U.S. World Cup team members Lauren Aumiller and Katie Chrest and a pair of individuals that will be playing in this year’s NCAA championships. North Carolina’s Ally Mastroianni received the award in 2015 and her current UNC teammate Jamie Ortega was the 2016 recipient.

US Lacrosse National Tournament Schedule

Saturday, May 26

8 a.m. – Games begin
5 p.m. – Last pool play games of day

Sunday, May 27

7 a.m. – Games begin
10 a.m. – Division championship games begin
12 p.m. – Onondaga Division championship game (awards to follow)

US Lacrosse National Tournament
The US Lacrosse Women’s National Tournament dates to 1933 and will feature 59 regional all-star teams competiing in seven divisions.
Event Home