Teams Announced for US Lacrosse WCLA National Championships

Teams Announced for US Lacrosse WCLA National Championships

The University of Michigan Club has received the number one seed in the Division I bracket of the 2018 US Lacrosse Women’s Collegiate Lacrosse Associates (WCLA) National Championships, while University of Denver Club earned the No. 1 seed in the Division II bracket.

The WCLA National Championships, which showcase the nation’s premier non-varsity collegiate teams, will be played May 9-12 at the Round Rock Multipurpose Complex in Round Rock, Texas, located about 15 miles north of Austin. 

The Division I field features 16 teams, while the Division II tournament consists of 12 teams. Both tournament fields are comprised of a combination of teams earning automatic qualifiers as league champions and teams earning at-large berths.

Michigan, 15-0, is making its 16th overall and eighth straight appearance in the WCLA championship tournament. The Wolverines won their only WCLA title in 2015, and enter this year’s tournament as the automatic qualifier and champion from the Women’s Collegiate Lacrosse League (WCLL).

Georgia (14-3) received the number two seed after winning the Southeastern Women’s Lacrosse League (SWLL) title. The Bulldogs, champions in 2016, are making their 12th overall and sixth straight tournament appearance. BYU (13-2) is seeded third and Pittsburgh (13-3) is the number four seed. 

In the Division II bracket, two-time defending champion University of Denver Club earned the top seed for the third straight year and brings an 11-4 overall record into the tournament. The Pioneers are making their fifth straight and sixth overall appearance in the championship.

Loyola University Maryland Club, last year’s runner-up, is the number two seed, with St. Thomas, the only undefeated D-II team, receiving the number three seed. 

The WCLA features 82 Division I teams and 149 Division II teams that compete under the US Lacrosse umbrella. The WCLA National Championship began in 2001 with a Division I tournament. The Division II championship was added in 2010. More information about the 2018 US Lacrosse WCLA National Championships, including game schedules and competition brackets, can be found online at

Selections for the field are based on a variety of criteria, including: overall record, record versus ranked teams, results versus common opponents, quality wins/quality losses, head-to-head results, conference playoff performance, final conference standings, and more.

Both the D-I and D-II national semifinal and championship games on May 11 & 12 will be available for viewing via free streaming from

Harrow Sports, Guardian, and Chipotle are the official event partners for the 2018 US Lacrosse WCLA National Championships, while US Lacrosse’s national partners, Greenfields and Nationwide, provide additional event support. 

The Division I and II seeds are listed below, with their season records noted:

Division I
No. 1 University of Michigan Club (15-0)
No. 2 University of Georgia (14-3)
No. 3 Brigham Young University (13-2)
No. 4 University of Pittsburgh (13-3)
No. 5 University of North Carolina Club (9-2)
No. 6 Boston College Club (13-2)
No. 7 University of Virginia Club (8-3)
No. 8 University of Delaware Club (8-1)
No. 9 California Polytechnic State University (9-4)
No. 10 University of California, Los Angeles (9-5)
No. 11 San Diego State University Club (10-4)
No. 12 University of Colorado Club (14-6)
No. 13 St. Mary’s (Ca.) College (10-3)
No. 14 Penn State University Club (6-4)
No. 15 University of Texas (9-5)
No. 16 University of Oregon Club (6-5)

Division II
No. 1 University of Denver Club (11-4)
No. 2 Loyola University Maryland Club (10-3)
No. 3 St. Thomas University (8-0)
No. 4 Southern Methodist University (10-2)
No. 5 Utah State University (7-3)
No. 6 Providence College (13-4)
No. 7 University of New Hampshire Club (10-1)
No. 8 Grand Valley State University Club (11-1)
No. 9 University of Vermont Club (5-3)
No. 10 Oakland University (9-3)
No. 11 California State University San Marcos (11-1)
No. 12 Portland State University (9-2)